Welcome, sign in or click here to subscribe.
Login: Password:




  People & Companies

Apr 28, 2015

Adolfson & Peterson Construction




The Tacoma office of Adolfson & Peterson Construction hired Wendy Simmons as director of marketing; and the Glendale, California, office hired Paul Baio as business development leader and John Palinkas as director of hospitality. Simmons has 14 years of marketing experience and is in charge of marketing at A&P's Washington, Oregon and California offices. Baio has 20 years of client development experience, and is focusing on growing the company in Southern California. Palinkas spent the last 15 years with Pechanga Development. He is pursuing hospitality projects in Washington, Oregon and California.

Walsh Construction Co.







Walsh Construction Co. promoted Savanna Anderson, Randy Cossette, Joe Patton and Tom Hardin; and hired Heather Correa as project administrator and Jake Brown as a senior level superintendent. Anderson was promoted to project administrator, which has her working on bids, subcontracts and filing. Cossette and Patton are now superintendents. Both men started at Walsh as journeyman carpenters and worked their way to assistant superintendents. Hardin was promoted to assistant superintendent. He joined Walsh in 2003 as a journeyman carpenter, then became a carpenter crew leader and foreman. Correa is working on the Decibel and Reverb projects. Brown has 13 years of superintendent experience and is working on the 8th Avenue Apartments.

Interstate Plastics

Polygal selected the Seattle office of Interstate Plastics as the Pacific Northwest's master distributor of the Polygal Polycarbonate Twinwall products, which are frequently used for glazing and roofing of commercial greenhouses, breezeways and patio covers.

Apr 21, 2015

Venture General Contracting





Seattle-based Venture General Contracting added Dan Weese as superintendent, Brian Welsh and Erin Carlstrom as project engineers, and Nate Brown as project manager. Weese has 16 years of construction experience in the hospitality, financial, education, medical and government industries. Welsh has seven years of experience in commercial, retail, repair and remediation, and tenant improvements. Carlstrom recently earned a bachelor's degree in engineering from Washington State University, and has experience in historic and commercial building renovations. Brown has nine years of experience with multifamily, hospitality, rehabilitation, telecommunications and HVAC-TI projects.

Alston Construction

Alston Construction, a general contractor with 10 offices around the country, opened an office at 6840 Fort Dent Way in Seattle. Kevin Stilwell, a 29-year construction veteran, heads up the new office as vice president and general manager. Stilwell spent nearly 17 years as a leader at Turner Construction's Seattle office. Sacramento, California-based Alston offers general contracting, construction management and design-build services. Its projects range in size from $250,000 to more than $100 million.

Argus Pacific

Olathe, Kansas-based Terracon Consultants bought Argus Pacific and is keeping the Seattle-based company's 16 workers. Argus Pacific offers industrial hygiene consultation and training related to asbestos, lead, mold, hazardous waste, emergency response, and other occupational health and safety topics. Terracon is an engineering consultant with more than 3,500 employees in 150 offices in 42 states.

Apr 14, 2015

Watts Constructors


The Gig Harbor office of Watts Constructors hired Kevin McGann as area project cost controller. McGann served for eight years in the Army Airborne Infantry and was deployed to Iraq during Operation Iraqi Freedom. He holds a bachelor's degree in accounting from the University of Wyoming, and spent the last five years as cost controller for Contrack International in Afghanistan.

Acrow Bridge

Jack Arizcuren joined Acrow Bridge as regional manager of the Pacific states. Based in Seattle, Arizcuren is in charge of sales, marketing and order execution in six states. He has 10 years of experience in the civil construction industry, and holds a bachelor's degree in international agribusiness from California Polytechnic State University. In 2013, New Jersey-based Acrow provided a temporary bridge after a section of the Interstate 5 bridge over the Skagit River was hit by a truck, collapsing it.

Auburn Mechanical

Auburn Mechanical received a safety excellence award from the Mechanical Contractors Association of Western Washington. It was the fourth year in a row that the Auburn-based company won the award. The safety program at Auburn Mechanical consists of the “buddy system,” daily safety inspections at jobsites and weekly staff meetings. The company says it takes a proactive approach to safety, making it part of the work process.

J.E. McAmis

J.E. McAmis bought 122 acres adjacent to the Columbia River in Cowlitz County for its new West Coast marine facility. The Chico, California-based company expects to relocate its Northwest field operations to the site later this year. It has provided heavy-civil, marine, dredging and environmental contracting in the Pacific Northwest for 30 years out of Astoria, Oregon. The company is mobilizing at the mouth of the Columbia for a $300 million jetty rehabilitation program.

MBA of King and Snohomish Counties

The Master Builders Association of King and Snohomish Counties has $30,000 in scholarships for college/trade/technical school students enrolled in residential construction-related programs. Sophomores, juniors and seniors are eligible. Apply by April 30 at mbaks.formstack.com/forms/2015_scholarship_app.

AGC of America

The Associated General Contractors of America recently gave outstanding student chapter awards to groups at Boise State University, Oregon Institute of Technology and California State University-Chico. The BSU group was cited for its work in reconstructing the guard tower at Minidoka National Monument. OIT's group designed and built three greenhouses for Klamath Tribal Health and Family Services.

BMWC Constructors

BMWC Constructors will turn 60 years old on Wednesday. The Indianapolis-based industrial and commercial contractor has offices in the Seattle and Portland areas. It was founded by Jack Baker as Baker Mechanical.

More People

Search Stories
 Sort by:
Advanced options