Welcome, sign in or click here to subscribe.
Login: Password:



  Architecture & Engineering

Email to a friend   Print   Comment   Reprints   Add to myDJC   Adjust font size

November 8, 2017

8 projects win 2017 awards from WASLA


Eight projects won 2017 Professional Awards from the Washington Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects at a ceremony held recently at Olympic Sculpture Park in Seattle.

The awards honor landscape architectural design and planning, and recognize projects anywhere in the world that have been done by Washington-based landscape architects.

The Arizona-based jury was made up of Mary Estes, principal at Norris Design; Brett Anderson, founding principal at AndersonBaron; Laura Paty, landscape architect and planner and president-elect of the Arizona chapter of ASLA; Jay Hicks, managing principal at Dig Studio; and Aaron Allan, landscape architect and guest lecturer at Arizona State University.

The moderator was Janelle Lotzgesell, secretary of WASLA and chair of the awards committee.

The awards have been given for about 30 years.

Here are some of the winners. For the other winners, go to http://tiny.cc/abfroy/.

Photo by Jeff Caven [enlarge]

Award of excellence (general design)

Prairie Line Trail in Tacoma

Landscape architect: PLACE Studio

Owner: University of Washington

Photo by Dave Kronstad [enlarge]

Honor award (general design)

Mercer Corridor improvement projects in Seattle: East phase

Landscape architect: HBB Landscape Architecture

Owner: Seattle Department of Transportation

Photo by Clayton Varick [enlarge]

Honor award (small projects, under $750,000 for landscape construction)

Pyrotek Headquarters

Landscape architect: Land Expressions, LLC

Owner: Pyrotek Corp.

Image by Swift Co. [enlarge]

Honor award (analysis and planning)

Sound Transit Lynnwood Link Light Rail Extension

Landscape architect: Swift Co.

Owner: Sound Transit

comments powered by Disqus