February 28, 2013
           Special Section Index    Back to DJC.COM 
Photo by Dane Gregory Meyer
Saint Martin's Universityís recently completed Cebula Hall was designed to earn a LEED platinum rating. The architect was McGranahan Architects and the general contractor was Berschauer Phillips Construction.

Donít let green-minded clients leave you behind
Contractors must play a broader planning role as green projects grow more complex.
By JAY SORENSEN
Lease Crutcher Lewis

New transfer station lifts Makahs out of the dumps
The Makah reservationís old dump poses a serious environmental threat, but its closure hinged on replacing it with something better.
By By BRUNO RIDOLFI
Ridolfi


Engineering schoolís new home reflects its values

Saint Martinís Cebula Hall was designed to demonstrate the green principles that students will study there.

By MARC GLEASON
McGranahan Architects



Is LEEDís future with federal projects under threat?

U.S. agencies are facing pressure from the timber and plastics industries to drop LEED requirements.
By MEGHAN A. DOURIS
Oles Morrison Rinker & Baker LLP


Falling costs could mean a bright future for solar panels

Even in sun-starved Western Washington, photovoltaics can pay for themselves in seven years.

By KEVIN CHARAP
Northwest Wind & Solar





A crucial step that green building teams often skip
Your project may be LEED certified, but how do you know if its performance is up to snuff?
By PHILIP MICHAELS
Interface Engineering



Thermal Ďraviolií keeps building temps in check
Oil-filled pockets installed in walls and ceilings can store heat during the day and release it at night to help buildings save energy.
By ED CLARK
ZGF Architects







Bullitt neighbor seeks a green distinction of its own
McGilvra Place will be the first park to attempt the Living Building Challenge.
By RACHAEL MEYER
Berger Partnership


How contractors can make the supply chain greener
More contractors are asking what goes into the building materials they use. A new database could make answers easier to find.
By KEVIN MCCAIN
Skanska USA


What to look for in a green building
Critical consumers should ask questions and judge for themselves whether a building meets their standards.
By MICHELLE ROSENBERGER and NANCY HENDERSON
Archecology







Building Green 2013 team

Section editor: Jon Silver

Section design: Jeffrey Miller

Web design: Lisa Lannigan

Advertising: Matt Brown



Advertisers

ArchEcology LLC (www.archecology.com)

Aspect Consulting (www.aspectconsulting.com)

Baylis Architects (www.baylisarchitects.com)

Berger Partnership (bergerpartnership.com)

Canyon River Ranch (www.canyonriverranch.net)

Centrifugal Maps (www.centrifugalmaps.com)

Coughlin Porter Lundeen (www.cplinc.com)

GLY (www.gly.com)

Go Green Conference Seattle (www.gogreenconference.net)

KULCHIN - Foundation Drilling Company (www.kulchin.com)

Pacific Earth Works (www.pacificearthworks.com)

Rafn Company (www.rafn.com)

Reds Fly Shop (www.redsflyshop.com)

SMACNA (www.smacnaww.org)

SvR Design Company (www.svrdesign.com)

Tree Solutions Inc. (www.treesolutions.net)

University Mechanical Contractors (www.umci.com)

Wood Harbinger (www.woodharbinger.com)




Copyright ©2013 Seattle Daily Journal and DJC.COM.
Comments? Questions? Contact us.