homeWelcome, sign in or click here to subscribe.login



Architecture & Engineering

print  email to a friend  reprints add to mydjc  

November 5, 2014

Seattle AIA Chapter Awards for 2014

Thirteen projects won Honor Awards for 2014 from the American Institute of Architects Seattle chapter.

More than 150 projects were submitted including buildings, installations and concepts. They could be located anywhere, but must have been designed by Washington architects in the last five years. Winners were picked in two categories: built and conceptual.

The jury was David Adjaye of Adjaye Associates in London, David J. Lewis of LTL Architects in New York City and Catie Newell of Alibi Studio in Detroit.

The jury said the winners were modest in scale but ambitious, inspirational, playful and inspired social transformation.

Winners were announced Monday at Benaroya Hall. The event was moderated by Rob Corser, an architect and associate professor of architecture at the University of Washington.

This is the 64th year of the awards.

Here are the winners:

Photo by Steve Hanson [enlarge]

Honor Award

Project: Oregon State Hospital Memorial Columbarium, Salem, Oregon

Designer: Lead Pencil Studio

Collaborators: SRG Partnership (architect of record), CH2MHill, Russ Brown Excavation, Urban Wilds, Lead Pencil Studio fabrication team

Photo by Coral von Zumwalt [enlarge]

Honor Award

Project: Stevens Addition, Tacoma

Designer: Architecture for Everyone

Collaborators: GeoEngineers, Panos Trochalakis/YT Engineers, Wanaka and Sons

Photo by Benjamin Benschneider [enlarge]

Merit Award

Project: Muckleshoot Smokehouse, Auburn

Designer: Mahlum Architects

Collaborators: Donovan Brothers, Caribou Creek Log & Timber, Frontier Log & Timber Homes, Coughlin Porter Lundeen, Hultz BHU, PCS Structural Solutions, Cascade Design Collaborative, Bundy & Associates

Photo by Lara Swimmer [enlarge]

Merit Award

Project: UW Bothell Discovery Hall, Bothell

Designer: THA Architecture

Collaborators: Walker Macy, PCS Structural Solutions, Glumac, Otak, Sparling, Biella Lighting Design, Anderson Krygier, Architectural Cost Consultants, Lease Crutcher Lewis

Photo by Lara Swimmer [enlarge]

Merit Award

Project: Federal Way 320th Library, Federal Way

Designer: SRG Partnership

Collaborators: Pease Construction, Swift Company, Springline Design, Magnusson Klemencic Associates, Rushing, The Greenbusch Group, Adams Consulting, The Robinson Company, Leo Saul Berk, Ron Hwang

Photo by Andrew Pogue [enlarge]

Merit Award

Project: Helen Street, Seattle

Designer: MW|Works Architecture + Design

Collaborators: Wittman Estes, Treebird Construction, PCS Structural Solutions

Photo courtesy of Seattle Demo Project [enlarge]

Honorable Mention

Project: Seattle Demo Project, Seattle (installation)

Designer: Seattle Demo Project, a collective

Photo by Benjamin Benschneider [enlarge]

Honorable Mention

Project: King Street Station, Seattle

Designer: ZGF Architects

Collaborators: Sellen Construction, Artifacts Consulting, Shiels Obletz Johnsen, KPFF Consulting Engineers, Arup, Coughlin Porter Lundeen, Rushing, Hart Crowser & Associates, Pivotal Lighting Design, Affiliated Engineers, Eleek Inc., Sparling, Performance Consulting, EverGreen Architectural

Rendering courtesy of NBBJ/MOTYW [enlarge]

Honorable Mention

Project: Seattle City Light Denny Substation, Seattle

Designer: NBBJ

Collaborator: Seattle City Light

Photo by Tom Stacey [enlarge]

Honorable Mention

Project: Wover, Seattle (installation)

Designer: Seattle Design Festival 2014 Rumble Team Material

Collaborators: Tarboo Inc., Hoffman Construction

Photo by Jeremy Bittermann [enlarge]

Honorable Mention

Project: Wilkes Elementary School, Bainbridge Island

Designer Mahlum Architects

Collaborators: SpeeWest Construction, Cascade Design Collaborative, 2020 Engineering, PCS Structural Solutions, Arup, SSA Acoustics, Rider Levett Bucknall, SBI Solutions, McKinstry, Bundy & Associates

Photo by Lifestring Photography [enlarge]

Honorable Mention

Project: Belltown Modular, Seattle

Designer: Bushnaq Studio Architecture + Design

Collaborators: Karen Kiest Landscape Architect, Kristine Donovick Interior Design, DCI Engineers, Springline Design, PanGEO, HV Engineering, JRS Engineering, AES Associates, Ground Support, Core Design, Advanced Fire Protection, Charter Construction, One Build LLC

Photo by Nic Lehoux [enlarge]

Honorable Mention

Project: Tsing Tao Pearl Visitor Center in Qingdao, China

Designer: Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Collaborators: StructureCraft Builders and Shanghai SKF Builder, Architectural Design & Research Institute of Tongji University (Group) Co. Ltd. (local architect), Fast + Epp, Landscape Design Inc., Qingdao Beiyang Architectural Design Company Ltd., Forestry Innovation Investment China, Archi Design Agency, Shanghai Yanghui Lighting Design Company Ltd.

Email or user name:
Forgot password? Click here.