Special Section Index   Awards   Back to DJC.COM 

Photo courtesy of Tacoma Narrows Constructors
Tacoma Narrows Constructors took home the construction grand award for its work on the new Tacoma Narrows Bridge. Forty-six deck sections weighing an average of 450 tons apiece were lifted and attached to suspension cables. Some of the sections were lifted and then ‘trapezed,’ or swung, into their final positions. The contractor is a joint venture of Kiewit Pacific Co. and Bechtel Construction Co.

AGC Awards 2008 team

Section editor: Jon Silver
Section design: Jeffrey Miller
Web design: Lisa Lannigan
Advertising: Matt Brown

BNBuilders, Tacoma Narrows
win top AGC awards

The Associated General Contractors of Washington on Wednesday recognized some of the state’s most successful projects at the Build Washington Awards event at the Seattle Art Museum.

May 22, 2008
A Special Section of

The grand award winner in construction went to Tacoma Narrows Constructors, a joint venture of Kiewit Pacific Company and Bechtel Construction, for the new Tacoma Narrows Bridge. BNBuilders received the grand award for safety, and P.J. O’Brien of John Korsmo Construction was named superintendent of the year.

“The Build Washington Awards program is always a great celebration of the innovation, quality and safety expertise of our contractors,” said AGC President Steve Barger of Northwest Cascade.

Grant Goodeve, host of KING-TV’s “Northwest Backroads,” emceed the event.

Construction judges included Marco Foster of the Washington State Department of Transportation, Carl Molesworth of Pacific Builder and Engineer, Todd Hess of Todd Hess Building Co., Jennifer Wedderman Hay of McGranahan Architects and Carrie Dossick of the University of Washington. Safety judges were Adam Gerson of OSHA Region 10, Rick Gleason of the University of Washington and Roby Robinson of Central Washington University.

Construction Q&A

This year’s DJC special section includes a new feature: interviews with four local construction executives. The topics range from serious to silly, but show these leaders aren’t all hammers and nails.

• Jim Crutcher, chairman, Lease Crutcher Lewis

• Loren Pease, vice president, Pease Construction

• Jeff Stroud, vice president, Mountain Construction

• Dave Zemek, vice president, Kiewit Pacific Co.

2008 AGC of Washington Award Winners
Construction Awards
Grand Construction Award:
Highway and Transportation

New Tacoma Narrows Bridge
Tacoma Narrows Constructors
Private Building over $5 million
The Lodge at Suncadia
Lease Crutcher Lewis
Private Building under $5 million
Associated Petroleum Products
John Korsmo Construction
Public Building over $5 million
Seattle Aquarium SEAS exhibit
Turner Construction Co.
Public Building under $5 million
Snoqualmie Library
Tenant Improvement over $5 million (tie)
Lincoln High School renovation and addition
Lease Crutcher Lewis
Tenant Improvement over $5 million (tie)
Tinglestad Hall renovation
Pease Construction
Tenant Improvement under $5 million
Muckleshoot Casino improvements
J.R. Abbott Construction
Clover Island Marina
Advanced American Construction
Green Building
Washington Public Utilities Districts Association
Mountain Construction
Municipal and Utilities
R.W. Johnson Boulevard and 21st Avenue
Active Construction
BNSF Cedar River bridge replacement
Guy F. Atkinson Construction
Judges’ honorable mention
S.S. Catala remediation and removal
Global Diving and Salvage
Safety Awards
Grand Safety Award:
General Contractor 150,001 to 400,000 hours

General Contractor over 400,000 hours
Northwest Construction
General Contractor 75,001-150,000 hours
Emerick Construction Co.
Judges' Achievement Award:
General Contractor under 75,000 hours

Aecon Buildings
Subcontractor over 100,000 hours
Andgar Corp.
Subcontractor under 50,000 hours
J. Harper Contractors
Recognition Award
Superintendent of the Year
P.J. O’Brien
John Korsmo Construction


Active Construction, Inc. (www.activeconstruction.com)

Advanced American Construction, Inc. (www.callaac.com)

Associated General Contractors (AGC) of Washington (www.agcwa.com)

BN Builders (www.bnbuilders.com)

J. Harper Contractors, Inc. (www.jharpercontractors.com)

John Korsmo Construction, Inc. (www.korsmo.com)

J.R. Abbott Construction (www.jrabbott.com)

Pease Construction (www.peaseinc.com)

PlanCenter (www.plancenter.com)

Stanislaw Ashbaugh (www.lawasresults.com)

UW Educational Outreach (www.outreach.washington.edu/uweo/)

Copyright ©2008 Seattle Daily Journal and DJC.COM.
Comments? Questions? Contact us.