Special Section Index   Awards   Back to DJC.COM 

Photo by Benjamin Benschneider Photography,
courtesy of BLRB Architects
Lease Crutcher Lewis was the construction grand award winner for the renovation of Garfield High School in Seattle. The renovation of the main building included a restoration of its 1920s brick and terra cotta facade. A new building, shown in the foreground, holds a gymnasium and a 595-seat performing-arts theater. The two-year project was completed in time for school in September.

AGC Awards 2009 team

Section editor: Jon Silver
Section design: Jeffrey Miller
Web design: Lisa Lannigan
Advertising: Matt Brown

AGC top winners: Aecon,
Lewis, Sicklesteel Cranes

AGC of Washington’s Build Washington Awards celebrate the innovation, quality, safety expertise and community spirit of AGC members.

May 21, 2009
A Special Section of

The association gave out its annual awards May 20 at Kane Hall on the University of Washington’s Seattle campus in an event emceed by KIRO radio personality Dave Ross.

The grand award in construction went to Lease Crutcher Lewis for its renovation of Garfield High School. Aecon Builders and Sicklesteel Cranes took home the grand awards for safety, and special recognition awards were given to superintendent of the year Jeff Robison of John Korsmo Construction and project manager of the year J. Daniel Phelan of Natt McDougall Co.

“The recipients of 2009 Build Washington Awards have increased the efficiency of our transportation system, built state-of-the-art education and health care facilities, improved environmental protection efforts, crafted vital and appealing community spaces, and rebuilt some of the state’s highest profile facilities,” said AGC Executive Vice President David D’Hondt.

New in 2009 is the AGC-Moss Adams Service to the Community Award to recognize AGC members who go above and beyond to support the communities in which they live and work. BNBuilders was the first recipient.

Construction judges included Julie Blazek of HKP Architects, Clancy Welsh of Garco Construction, Chuck Lynch of the Boeing Support Service Group, Marco Foster of the Washington State Department of Transportation, and Ben Minnick of the Seattle Daily Journal of Commerce. Safety judges were Adam Gerson of OSHA Region 10, Dale Cavanaugh of OSHA Region 10 and Anne Soiza of the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission.

Construction Q&A

• Rick Philipovich, operations manager, BNBuilders

• Ron Morford, president and district manager, General Construction Co.

• Wade Perrow, CEO , Wade Perrow Construction

• John McGowan, president and CEO, J.R. Abbott Construction

2009 AGC of Washington Award Winners
Grand Awards
Garfield High School
Lease Crutcher Lewis
Safety: General contractor -- Under 75,000 hours
Aecon Buildings

Safety: Subcontractor -- Over 100,000 hours
Sicklesteel Cranes

AGC-Moss Adams Service to the Community Award

Construction Awards
Private building over $5 million
Four Seasons Hotel and Residences
Lease Crutcher Lewis
Private Building under $5 million
House of Awakened Culture
Drury Construction Co.
Public building over $5 million
Harborview Medical Center, Inpatient Expansion and Maleng Building
Turner Construction Co.
Public Building under $5 million
Muckleshoot Library
Tenant improvements over $5 million
Garfield High School
Lease Crutcher Lewis
Tenant Improvement under $5 million
Navos Inpatient Services
J.R. Abbott Construction
Highway and transportation
SR-543 widening and border crossing improvements
IMCO General Construction
Terminal 91 Berth M reconstruction
General Construction Co.
Green building
Annette B. Weyerhaeuser Early Learning Center
Pease Construction
Municipal and utilities
Upper Baker Dam floating surface collector
Natt McDougall Co.
Sha Dadx habitat restoration
Wade Perrow Construction
Judges' honorable mention
Paradise Visitors Center
Watts/Korsmo, a Joint Venture
Safety Awards
General contractor over 400,000 hours
IMCO General Construction
General contractor 150,001-400,000
General contractor 75,001-150,000
Emerick Construction Co.
General contractor under 75,000
Aecon Buildings
Subcontractor over 100,000 hours
Sicklesteel Cranes
Subcontractor 75,001-100,000
Danard Electric
Subcontractor under 50,000
J. Harper Contractors
Recognition Award
Superintendent of the Year
Jeff Robison
John Korsmo Construction
Project manager of the year
J. Daniel Phelan
Natt McDougall Co.


Alliance Flooring Services (www.allianceflooring.com)

Associated General Contractors (AGC) of Washington (www.agcwa.com)

Drury Construction (www.druryconstruction.com)

John Korsmo Construction, Inc. (www.korsmo.com)

J.R. Abbott Construction (www.jrabbott.com)

Moss Adams LLP (www.mossadams.com)

Natt McDougall Company (www.nattmcdougallco.com)

Pease Construction (www.peaseinc.com)

Reds Flyshop (www.redsflyshop.com)

Stanislaw Ashbaugh (www.lawasresults.com)

WPC (www.wpconstruction.com)

PlanCenter (www.plancenter.com)

Copyright ©2009 Seattle Daily Journal and DJC.COM.
Comments? Questions? Contact us.