homeWelcome, sign in or click here to subscribe.login



Architecture & Engineering

print  email to a friend  reprints add to mydjc  

November 14, 2018

14 winners in WASLA 2018 awards program

The Washington Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects has given 14 Professional Awards for landscape architectural design and planning.

The awards recognize projects, partnerships and professionals.

The ceremony was at the University of Washington Center for Urban Horticulture in Seattle.

The St. Louis-based jury was Rod Barnett, professor and chair of the Graduate Program in Landscape Architecture at Washington University; Chip Crawford, senior principal at BatesForum and past-president of the Landscape Architecture Foundation; Felipe DeNarvaez, associate at SWT and past-president of the St. Louis Chapter of the ASLA; Jacque Lumsden, transportation planner at CBB; Jeff Ryan, architect and director of design at Christner; and Valerie Chang Greer, architect and former vice president of HOK.

The moderators were Janelle Lotzgesell, chair of the awards committee, and Maren McBride, Tim Slazinik and Laura Thompson. They are past-secretary, secretary, president and immediate past-president of WASLA, respectively.

The awards have been given for about 30 years.

Go to http://wasla.org/2018-award-winners to read more about the winning entries.

Award of Excellence, Public Projects

Barton Basin CSO, Seattle
Landscape architect: MIG | SvR
Owner: King County Wastewater Treatment Division
Photo by Billy Hustace

Award of Excellence, Public Projects

University of Oregon Hatfield-Dowlin Complex, Eugene, Oregon
Landscape architect: Place
Owner: University of Oregon
Photo by Jeremy Bittermann

Award of Honor, Public Projects

Murray Wet Weather Facility, Seattle
Landscape architect: HDR
Owner: King County Wastewater Treatment Division
Photo by Mike Cameron, HDR

Award of Merit, Public Projects

Bennett Elementary, Bellevue
Landscape architect: Weisman Design Group
Owner: Bellevue School District
Photo by Benjamin Benschneider

Award of Merit, Public Projects

Horton Plaza, San Diego, California
Landscape architect: Walker Macy
Owner: Civic San Diego
Photo by Stuart Isett

Award of Merit, Public Projects

Kenmore Town Square, Kenmore
Landscape architect: Hewitt
Owner: City of Kenmore
Photo by Andrew Pogue Photography

Award of Merit, Public Projects

Pioneer Square Alleys, Seattle
Landscape architect: MIG | SvR
Owner: Alliance for Pioneer Square
Photo by Billy Hustace

Award of Excellence, Private Projects

Meridian Center for Health, Seattle
Landscape architect: Site Workshop
Owner: Neighborcare Health
Photo by Sean Airhart, NBBJ

Award of Merit, Private Projects

Data 1, Seattle
Landscape architect: Weber Thompson
Owner: CoU, LLC
Photo by Built Work Photography

Award of Excellence, Residential Design

South Whidbey Residence, Whidbey Island
Landscape architect: Berger Partnership
Owners: Amy and Chris Gulick
Photo by Built Work Photography

Honor Award, Residential Design

Pike Motorworks, Seattle
Landscape architect: Hewitt
Owner: The Wolff Co.
Photo by Jacqueline Argueta, Hewitt

Award of Merit, Research, Analysis & Planning

Resilient by Design: ouR-HOME, North Richmond, California
Landscape architect: Mithun
Owner: Resilient by Design
Rendering by Mithun

Community Stewardship Award

UW Department of Landscape Architecture: Neighborhood Revitalization through Community-University Partnership in Seattle’s Chinatown-International District

Outstanding Emerging Professional Award

Biruk Belay
Nominated by Site Workshop
For contributions to the profession by volunteering at the UW and Ethiopian Community Center, and his leadership and excellence in professional practice.

Email or user name:
Forgot password? Click here.